Smile #127 – A Chocolatey St. Patty

I could spend all day watching those time-lapse recipe videos.  BBQ chicken never seemed so simple!  Even Peking Duck-Inspired Burritos looked manageable!  Dinner party, never fear!

Despite these videos made cooking seem so uncomplicated, I have yet to get my hands dirty.  …until I reached the dessert section.  Desserts always catches my eyes.

To celebrate St. Patrick’s day, a new clip teaching how to make Irish Cream Chocolate Truffles was posted.  40 seconds demonstration was enough to convince me that I can and want to make this.  I got this!  🙂

Recipe:

  • 7 oz semisweet chocolate
  • 1/4 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 1/3 cup Baileys Irish Cream
  • Coca powder for coating

2016-03-17 20.12.28.jpg

Target and I are total best friend.  But the baking aisle and I aren’t even qualified to be acquaintances.  I walked up and down searching for chocolate.  Did you know there is a whole section within this aisle dedicated to just chocolate?!

With a full bag of ingredients, I come home readied to start making my latest creation!  In the mid of melting the chocolate, I realized I forgot the most important ingredient of all.  THE BAILEYS!  Got to have some Irish in the treat to celebrate this holiday!  I rushed out the house to find the closest liquor store.  Phew, good thing the ABC store closes at 9pm.

Warning:  The final product is not the most glamorous looking.  But it tastes yummy!  The cocoa powder toned down the rich and chocolate flavor inside making them not too sweet and not overwhelming.  🙂  I’d say my attempt is rather successfully.  🙂

2016-03-18 20.08.43-1.jpg

Leave a Reply

