Smile #123 – The Wildfire Tour

One stage shared by three talented artists, Christina Grimmie – former The Voice contestant, Eric Hutchinson – Yahoo’s Who’s Next Artist, and the queen of the night, Rachel Platten.  Night made.  🙂

Sis and I bought tickets as part of her spring break itinerary.  We arrived at Amos Southend before the doors even opened!  True Fans!  (..kinda)

2016-03-07 19.01.54-1.jpg

Christina Grimmie kicked off the night with her original song, Without Him.  The lyrics paired with her voice captured the audience’s full attention, including mine.  It was a surprise – a sweet surprise, to see her brother joined her on keyboard to perform her newest song, Liar Liar.  This duo definitely charmed the audience.  🙂

2016-03-07 19.32.20.jpg

A quick set change before Eric Hutchinson and his band took the stage.  Just as his poster suggested, Eric Hutchinson is pretty good.  

2016-03-07 20.28.52.jpg

He was like a ball of energy, danced from the left stage to right stage.  There wasn’t a single dull moment with him.  His band members also shared the same spirit.  Catchy songs, outgoing personality, what more can you ask for?!

Side Story:  It took me a good number of tries before I captured a photo of these three men together.  They are always too quick for my camera!   By the time I have pulled out my phone, these men already disbanded.  So finally!

2016-03-07 20.31.24.jpg

For the big finale, Eric even created a dance circle in the audience and led everyone to dance!

2016-03-07 20.37.57.jpg

After the show, I managed to snap a picture with the man.  In his word:  My life has been made.  🙂

2016-03-07 21.12.06-1.jpg

At 9:20pm, lights blinked and filled the stage.  Fans roared as Rachel took the stage in a simple white tank, a pair of leather overalls,  and shiny ankle boots. I had expected Rachel to break the scene with her anthemic hit, Fight Song.  Instead, she surprised us with songs from her new album, Beating Me Up and Lone Ranger.

2016-03-07 21.24.52.jpg

Her vocal is no doubt amazing, she even sounded good when she is sick!  Did you know she can also beatbox?!  This woman is talented!

The setlist shared how dynamic Rachel really is.  From her acoustic cover of Justin Bieber’s Love Yourself to catchy tunes of Hey Hey Hallelujah to R&B style You Don’t Know My Heart, she stunned us with every song!

She wrapped the show with Stand By You.  One song that connected everyone in the hall.

Even if we can’t find heaven, I’ll walk through Hell with you!  — Rachel Platten

Of course, Rachel couldn’t leave without singing her biggest hit.  Chants of “Fight Song” brought her back on stage for encore.  🙂

2016-03-07 21.58.44.jpg

This is my fight song
Take back my life song
Prove 
I’m alright song
My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me!

Leave a Reply

