Smile #109 – Climb to the Top

Strapped on our harnesses, clipped in our belts, and slowly pulled myself up rock by rock.  Higher and higher I climbed until I reached the peak of the climb ground and my hand finally touched the silver bar at top.  That was the greatest accomplishment of today.  🙂

2016-01-31 14.31.06.jpg

JB and I spent the afternoon learning the ropes at Inner Peak, an indoor climbing gym [pun intended!].  After we signed our lives away, our trainer introduced us to basic belay and rope management procedures.  We each took a turn at belaying and climbing.  Trusting our partner!  Don’t drop me!

2016-01-31 14.30.35.jpg

The whole facility is covered with walls with varying levels routes designed for beginners and advanced climbers. We started off at the auto belay station.  Since it eliminated the need for a belayer, it allowed our partner to capture a few action shots.  As it turned out, this photo-op wall was actually very challenging.  We didn’t make it much more than a few inches off the ground with these small round knobs.

2016-01-31 14.50.43.jpg

Although our first attempt failed, we were not defeated!  We found a quiet wall off to the side and tried again.  Each move must be considered carefully.  I tested each knob to see how well I can stand or hold it.  Slowly and steadily, I made it to the top!

2016-01-31 15.11.36.jpg

2016-01-31 15.13.17.jpg

With each try, we became more comfortable and confident climbing.  🙂

JB was quite talented at bouldering, rock climb without the use of ropes or harnesses!  I chickened out at the thought of no rope to secure my fall.

2016-01-31 14.55.19.jpg

It is certainly a great way to get into shape.  Hopefully our arms won’t regret our adventure today!  🙂

Leave a Reply

