Smile #11 – Taste of Childhood Past

Growing up my mom had very strict rules regarding chocolate and sweets.  I was only allowed a small treat every so often for good behavior.  On the other hand, my dad, who didn’t know the rules, was a lot more laid back on the sugar restriction.

One memory I had from childhood is when my dad picked me up after kindergarten and he forgot the keys to the apartment.  My mom was out running errands and won’t be home for a bit.  I grew hungry as we wait for mom to come unlock our door.  After my long groan, my dad bought me a giant box of Koala Bear snacks.  That certainly took my attention away from being bored to eating, eating, and eating.  Mom arrived back in time to make sure I didn’t ruin my appetite for dinner.

Koala remains my favorite snacks of all time.  Cute koala shaped crispy cookies filled with chocolate creme, YUM!  Each koala has a different expression.

2015-02-16 16.09.11 2015-02-16 16.09.36

The local Asian store just imported a new shipment.  Boxes of koalas stacked up on the shelf.  I stood on my tippy toes and reached to the top shelf for a box of my own.  #shortpeopleproblems

It tasted just like the good ol’days!  🙂

Leave a Reply

